Here Come da Judge!

Some days I’m reminded of the old song, “Here Come da Judge.” It is amazing how so many individuals who say they are Christians pass judgment on others, especially their own fellow Christians. More often than not, without knowing their history or in other words knowing his/her story they pass judgment. Some even pass judgment based upon rumors and gossip. They put a person in their little judged box, condemning them, and in some cases even writing them off forever. I’m so glad God doesn’t handle us that way.

 
For example, I remember when first taking public office I was told by a fellow Commissioner, “There is no way you can relate to the plight of the poor people in our city”. Maybe it was the suit I was wearing at the time or the car I drive, or the house I currently reside in that made her draw that conclusion. Whatever it was, not knowing me or my story she had clearly judged me wrongly.

 
She did not know when I first moved to this community with my mother who had no job, we were PO.. We were so poor we couldn’t afford the O and R to be labeled poor. We actually lived in a house that had no indoor plumbing. Yes, we had an outdoor toilet and a water pump on the back porch and a wood burning stove in the middle of the living room for heat.

 
So you can imagine what our life was like during that Michigan winter, especially when you had to go to the bathroom. Before generic labels hit the shelves in stores I remember the generic government labels on our shelf at home. Of course my mother being the strong woman that she was worked hard to continually improve our living conditions and did, and I never saw a hungry day.

 
To be honest I didn’t know we were poor until I was seventeen years old and was applying to further my education. I was told how far below the poverty line we were living. All I could say to that was, “I’ve never felt poor.” The reason I never felt poor is that I lived in a non-judgmental environment of love, faith, hope and prayer.

 
I was continually told by my mother no one is better than you, no matter what color they are or position they hold, and never consider yourself better than anyone else. Never look down on anyone else no matter their situation or status in life. Always remember where you came from and what God has brought us through, and brought us to, for it was only by the grace of God.

 
So, have I ever been poor? Yes. Can I relate to being poor? Yes. Is there a special place in my heart that moves me to help those in poor conditions? Yes. Am I grateful for my position in life today? Yes. Should I have been judged? No! Can I judge? No!

 
The point I’m trying to make here is that our judgment has too many bias to judge correctly. The question you should ask yourself, “have I ever judged someone or a situation and later discovered I was wrong?” I’m sure we all would say yes. Because there is only one righteous judge who gets it right 100% of the time, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. God knows your story, my story and their story.

 
I believe the world would just be a much better place if we had more Christian Intercessors (a person who intervenes on behalf of another, especially by prayer) instead of Christian Judges.

 

The Apostle James writes in chapter 4 verse 12, “who are you to judge someone else?” Jesus said, “How can you get the speck of saw dust out of your brother or sisters eye when there is a board stuck in your own eye.” He then termed it as being hypocritical.

 

When people see you coming don’t let it be said, “Here come da judge”. The truth is, if we really want to get it right judge the man or woman in the mirror and make that change. That is Speaking Truth to Power.

 

One thought on “Here Come da Judge!

Leave a Reply

